Winter Interlude

The heavy wet snow fell in big globs silently except for an almost unperceivable hiss as they hit the earth. The damp, freezing cold seeped in and I felt it undeniably on my head face, and limbs, as I opened the gate and peeked out at the garden, and trees and noticed my early-to-bloom daffodils, were soaked down in snow that was beginning to accumulate in the front yard. I thought this is really unusual weather for a coastal northern California community.

My cat scurried to the door wanting to escape the confines of a warm front room with a fireplace burning. She peeked out the door and turned to go back in since she had never seen snow before, confused about what the wet white stuff was. Later, she ran out and had adventures in the snow, I saw her bounding over the build-up of 1-2 inches of snow with ease. Eventually, she slept for hours in my back bedroom.

The next day my 12-year-old grandson, and 8-year-old granddaughter came over and shouted for joy with squeals of delight when they had a snowball fight and made a snowman in our front yard. They had never seen snow falling or accumulating in their neighborhood so the new weather experience was a total thrill for them. They gazed in wonder at the snow falling and picked it up with glee from the front yard. It made me remember being a child and the wonder of it all.

My husband and I took a walk in the neighborhood and found it bitter cold with a winter wind on our faces and back. We trudged on for a neighborhood visit to Henderson Center. Generally, we try to walk every day for at least 1/2 hour for counteracting retirement ease, sitting, and lack of fresh air access in the Winter. Today we will go and explore the beauty of nature either at the beach which got snow too, the forest, or at a park.

Snow today is gone tomorrow. Next week maybe we will get more. Now I enjoy a bit of sunshine. Each day I am grateful to be able to view this infinitely beautiful earth we call home.

Leave a comment